More stealth attacks on guns – disarming pilots


The Obama administration has quietly put an end to the gun policy for pilots that was put into place shortly after 9-11.  That program allowed pilots to carry guns on the plane as a defense against terrorists and others who mean harm to the pilots.

From Washington Times:

After the September 11 attacks, commercial airline pilots were allowed to carry guns if they completed a federal-safety program. No longer would unarmed pilots be defenseless as remorseless hijackers seized control of aircraft and rammed them into buildings.

Now President Obama is quietly ending the federal firearms program, risking public safety on airlines in the name of an anti-gun ideology.

So where will the funding for the firearms training of pilots be diverted? To a program that will fund staff who will perform field inspections of pilots!

The Obama administration this past week diverted some $2 million from the pilot training program to hire more supervisory staff, who will engage in field inspections of pilots.

The fact that pilots have the best performance record of any law enforcement groups doesn’t seem to matter….let’s harass and inspect them, says the Obama administration.

This looks like completely unnecessary harassment of the pilots. The 12,000 Federal Flight Deck Officers, the pilots who have been approved to carry guns, are reported to have the best behavior of any federal law enforcement agency. There are no cases where any of them has improperly brandished or used a gun. There are just a few cases where officers have improperly used their IDs.

Fewer than one percent of the officers have any administrative actions brought against them and, we are told, virtually all of those cases “are trumped up.”

Here is what has transpired with this program since January 20 …you know the date Barack Hussein “I won’t take your guns” Obama was inaugurated:

Pilots cannot openly speak about the changing policies for fear of retaliation from the Transportation Security Administration. Pilots who act in any way that causes a “loss of confidence” in the armed pilot program risk criminal prosecution as well as their removal from the program. Despite these threats, pilots in the Federal Flight Deck Officers program have raised real concerns in multiple interviews.

Of course, like everything else on Obama’s wish list, it is puzzling as to why this is happening.   It seems to be more of the same Obama MO…say one thing, while quietly working through his far left wish list and dismantling  American freedoms and protection while he is at it.

Frankly, as a matter of pure politics, we cannot understand what the administration is thinking. Nearly 40 House Democrats are in districts were the NRA is more popular than House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. We can’t find any independent poll in which the public is demanding that pilots disarm. Why does this move make sense?

Only anti-gun extremists and terrorist recruits are worried about armed pilots.

UPDATE: The Obama Administration is now denying that removing guns from the cockpits is in the works.  Yu can see the article here at FoxNews.    I’ll let you be the judge as to whether the Obama Admin just backtracked or not exactly like they did with Veteran’s Health Insurance after a little heat  was felt.

5 Responses

  1. This is insane. WHEN we are attacked again, it will be flat out obama’a fault. Any and all lawsuit’s brought by the terrorist’s attack’s should be leveled directly at obama’s feet. We as the public need to arm up ourselves buy all the guns and ammo you can get your hand’s on.

  2. “We as the public need to arm up ourselves buy all the guns and ammo you can get your hand’s on.”

    Frank,

    From what I can tell, that’s happening.

  3. You know, as a pilot, I’m a little confused. I’ve been hearing this “gun ban” story. Yesterday, I heard “do you hear what Obama is planning” from my copilot. As he asked that question, my Colt was in my bag in the compartment above my head. (I know, I should keep it with me, but it digs into my hip when I sit down.)

    This afternoon, I’m in a hotel room with my laptop. (We don’t fly out for another four hours.) I’m reading this story everywhere, but it all seems to track back to the Washington Times. That, and other blogs, are the only sources I’m finding.

    In my email, there’s nothing to tell me that my gun can’t go with me. Don’t even have one of those twice-a-week emails telling me that there’s new paperwork I have to fill out.

    And then I found this on Fox News.
    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/first100days/2009/03/18/federal-officials-deny-report-pilot-gun-program-end/

    I’m thinking that somebody at the Moonie Times got his wires crossed. There doesn’t seem to be anything to this story.

  4. Bill M,
    I also read the Fox News article and just had not updated my blog with that information. I have now put an update on this post. Thanks for your input.

    While I understand you still carry your gun, it doesn’t mean our anti-gun Obama administration didn’t contemplate or actually plan this move. I trust very few of the Obama Admin denials/backtracks on issues like this where word gets out, people learn about it, and then there’s big backlash. (Use the Veteran’s Insurance issue as your prime example)

  5. SRT,

    An even better example is the story about the surplus military ammo brass.

    Bill,

    I’m glad you have your gun. However, I suggest a shoulder holster.

Leave a Reply

