Whoopi: Understand my hypocrisy, Elisabeth


This has been bugging me since I saw the video somewhere in the blogs yesterday ( I don’t remember which blog).  FoxNews has a story on it today titled: Elisabeth Hasselbeck in Tears After ‘View’ Discussion on N-Word

Read and watch the video and my thoughts are further below:

(The View ladies were talking about Jesse Jackson using the N-word)……..

“(Sherri) Shepard also said to co-host Barbara Walters: “I don’t want to hear it come out of your mouth.”

Hasselbeck contested that “We [blacks and whites] don’t live in different worlds, we live in the same world.”

(Whoopi) Goldberg, who used the n-word repeatedly during the broadcast (it was bleeped out), said that “We don’t live in the same world. What I need you to understand is the frustration that goes along with when you say we live in the same world. It isn’t balanced.”

Hasslebeck tearfully replied that “when we live in a world where pop culture then uses that term, and we’re trying to get to a place where we feel like we’re in the same place, where we feel like we’re in the same world … how are we supposed to then move forward if we keep using terms that bring back that pain?”

Can you see how Whoopi and Sherri Shepherd bring Elisabeth Hasselbeck to tears.   Whoopi will barely let Hasselbeck get a word in edge-wise.   And they insist that what is not OK for Hasselbeck (or Barbara Walters) is OK for Whoopi and Sherri – all in the name of race and “black culture”.

Whoopi’s condescending words just make me cringe….and she is lecturing the white ladies on how they can’t use the N-word while she blurts the word out at least 3 or 4 times on National TV.   Can you say “in-your-face” hypocrisy?

Personally, I don’t like the word and I do not allow it to be used around my children privately or publicly, if I can help it.  Aside from the fact that I think the word perpetuates a negative stereotype of black individuals, I am adament that my (young) children not become familiar with the word because I believe it allows my children to judge people by the color of their skin and not the person.   So I agree with Elisabeth that using the word privately or publicly is not a positive thing to do, especially around children.

Children ask lots of questions and are curious by nature…my children are no exception to that rule.  My children have NEVER looked at another individual and asked me why that person is a different color…..NEVER!…..Why would I want them to hear a word in my home or out of Whoopi’s mouth that teaches them to do that very thing?  Why do Jesse or Whoopi think that would be OK?

It just really makes me angry when those whose voices are the LOUDEST (Whoopie, Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, Michelle Obama, and Obama, himself) in announcing America’s so-called racial injustice, also feel it is just fine for “their culture” to use the N-word and flaunt it.

An analogy comes to mind……

I would bet that Whoopi, the Obamas, Jesse and Al are squarely against the use of the Confederate Flag on public buildings and I will also bet money that they believe the flag is a symbol of racial hatred.   While they probably don’t have a Confederate Flag flying in the privacy of their homes (even though they seem to use the N-Word in their homes, according to Whoopi), right or wrong, the flag is a part of Southern culture.

Again, I don’t particularly care to fly that particular flag (I prefer the US Flag)!  Using Whoopi’s logic, Southern culture is not her culture so, in similar words to hers, “The Southerners need her to understand the frustration that goes along with when you say we live in the same world. It isn’t balanced.”…..so therefore, if she is justified to use the N-word as part of her culture, why can’t a Southerner fly the Confederate Flag as part of theirs? 

Both the N-word and that flag have become not-so-positive symbols of hatred and discrimination.  So why is one word or symbol good for one culture and not another, especially when the one culture accuses the other of the using those words and symbols out of hatred and discrimination?!?!?!

Unless I was wishing to perpetuate the tension and the issue for some type of warped gain, why would I be willing to continue to support such language?  Jackson and Sharpton have made a business out of perpetuating racial tension….but as we’ve seen, Jackson thinks the N-word and all its baggage are OK for cultural consumption….Whoopi’s motiviation and justifications, in my mind, are a way to remain in victim status…..

Whoopi can tell Hasselbeck and me all she wants that she lives in a different world, but I won’t accept Whoopi’s premise to continue living in a “world” she and those like her claim we forced her into…..especially when Hasselbeck and others are completely open to the view of “living in the same world”.

Unbelievable!

4 Responses

  1. TO WHOOPie
    I am a white man and I am not racists
    And if whoppie Goldberg wants a segregated language; as she spoke about yesterday .. that only black people are allowed to use certain words.. then we all should be able to go back to segregation – seperate but equal – seprate but equal… this is what she really wants … To me she wants segregation and if she says its ok to segargate a language or words, the why stop there??? lets bring back segration.. we all should be able to do it
    I may never vote for a black person now because of her …
    I am not a racist – I am a white man … but if thats the way she wants it then so be it – I am following the lead of whoppie Goldberg and the Rev of god… Master Jackson and master Sharpton
    You want polarized society well now you got it – I will start from this day on
    Thanx for bringing me to lite

  2. Wow. I cannot believe I just wasted 6 minutes of my life watching this. The N word was created by southerns, so isn’t it also a part of southern culture? You don’t see Germans calling each other Nazi. Why isn’t that a “bad” word? I am not going to waste any more time on this.

  3. this was in a high-shool project i had to do, but i felt so strongly a responce to post a reply

    The writer of this blog obviously speaks from a matronly perspective, using appeals to other mothers and a particularly strong analogy. But to understand her blog one must first witness a segment of ‘The View,’ a show on ABC, in which the five host (Whoopi Golbert, Sherri Shepard, Elizabeth Hasselbeck, Barbara Walters, unknown) begin to discuss Jesse Jackson’s utterance of the “n word” when he thought he was not still airing on a radio show. Somehow the ladies got on the discussion of whether the “n word” should be used, by whom it should be used, and how it should used. So now we can get back to the rhetoric used by the writer.
    The author of this blog first establishes she is a mother, this ties in with the argument of Hasselbeck in the segment of the view, and somewhat establishes ethos. She claims, as a mother, she does not use nor does she promote the use of the “n word” publicly or privately because it “perpetuates a negative stereotype” and it would allow her “children to judge people by the color of their skin.” She throws in some loaded words like “cringe” and “never.” I find the instance of use of the word ‘never’ to be rather strange as it did not really help her argument. She claims “My children have NEVER looked at another individual and asked me why that person is a different color…..NEVER!…..” but in the sentence before this says children are naturally curious. I do not think such a question, especially when asked by a child, has anything to do with the racial discrimination or use of the “n word,” which is supposed to be the subject of the blog.
    Then the writer goes on to set up an analogy between use of the “n word” and display of the Confederate flag both of which she claims “have become not-so-positive symbols of hatred and discrimination.” I assume, in her analogy the writer is trying to say that differences in culture do not make the word nor the symbol any less racially discriminate or offensive.
    After watching this segment of ‘The View’ I was almost brought to tears over the state of the black community, a group I would include myself in. I feel more shame than anything and have lost all amounts of respect for Whoopi Golbert and Sherri Shepard. These two women, whom just sitting on the set of this nationally aired talk show represent African Americans as a whole, and they showed complete ignorance and lack of disrespect. It is extremely unfair that millions of people have watched this and concurred the opinions expressed by these two ladies are shared amongst all blacks. I do not agree with either ladies; not culture, nor parent’s use of the word, nor the fact that the world is not an equal, fair place give us blacks reason to feel ownership of the “n word.” We cannot erase the fact that it was used by whites as a racial slur nor can we demand that they not use it. The disgusting history still remains behind the word whether used by blacks or whites, in public or in the privacy of one’s own home. And Whoopi Golbert displays the ignorance associated with the opinion that black people’s use of the word is okay. She says nothing when Sherri Shepard asserts she does not want to hear any white person use the “n word,” but Whoopi says it herself at least three times! It is a damn shame that half the black people in America, that pride themselves in intelligence, dignity, and hard work have no choice but be associated with that vile woman and her ignorant, irrational, and hypocritical claims.
    My claim that viewers of this show will associate all blacks with Golbert and Shepard are only solidified by the writer of this blog. She associates Michelle and Barack Obama with the brainless dim-wits on ‘The View.’ Never have I heard either of the Obamas use the “n word” in reference to themselves or anyone else at this matter. And though I want to question her political motivation behind this I cannot even begin to do this without first pointing the blame at my fellow black Americans. The writer does identify with Golbert’s hypocrisy, as I did also, and goes on to say that Golbert cannot try to play the victim. She makes decent claims and sets up a potentially good analogy. But in her analogy of the “n word” and the Confederate flag, she shows misunderstanding in her claim that both “have become not-so-positive symbols of hatred and discrimination.” She says this as though this is some new and ugly occurrence. When has the “n word” not been a word of hate and discrimination?!

  4. cmh –

    The reason I used the word NEVER is because my kids have literally NEVER asked that question about the color of someone’s skin. They don’t see black and white ….they see a person, no skin color, and that is the way I want it and the way we should all be.

    Watching people like Goldberg and Shepherd do make me CRINGE because they are the ones perpetuating race and racial stereotypes. My kids are not getting any of that from me, they are potentially getting it from the very ones who CLAIM they don’t want to be judged by their race….that is my point.

    As for Michelle and Barack Obama, they may not use the N-word, but they do perpetuate racial tension, use race and racial preferences to keep the racial turmoil afloat in this country. (mostly among blacks at this point). In that way, they are just like Goldberg and Shepherd. I believe Goldberg and Shepherd do it out of indignance and insecurity…..the Obama’s because it is politically expedient and because it gives the Obama’s power.

    I don’t mean to insinuate that the N-word and Confederate flag are newly discriminatory. I can see where my words may look that way….probably not the best way to word it. However, I do believe those symbols have different (not better) meaning today than they have in the past. I still believe the Confederate flag is a cultural symbol of Southern America….good or bad. It has been lifted from being a symbol of one side of a War to becoming a symbol of hatred and discrimination by both whites and blacks, IMHO.
    The N-word has transformed into a word used by black people more than white (at least publicly) but is still discriminatory…..nothing new about its nastiness, though.

    Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

