Blessings vs. Punishment!


A perfectly wonderful perspective regarding Obama’s comments on pregnancy as punishment—from Ed Morrissey:

I have to add something to this thread. My son & daughter-in-law had our granddaughter, the Little Admiral, when they were 18 years old. None of us ever saw her as a “punishment”, not from God or hormones or the universe in general. While we would obviously have preferred that Mom and Dad had a little more preparation for life, we never thought of the new addition as anything other than a blessing. How so? We saw our son blossom almost overnight into manhood. He threw himself into his new family. Our daughter-in-law spent most of the pregnancy on an IV, and he learned to install and maintain it for her. They fought their school administrators almost their entire senior year, helped along by their very supportive teachers; they threatened to sic truant officers on my son (who was getting the best grades in his life at the time) until I told the district superintendent that I would be calling every TV station in town to let them know that the administrators were pressuring my DIL to get an abortion. In May, the Little Admiral turns 6, and my son and DIL will both graduate from college. She’ll be a teacher, while he wants to pursue post-graduate work in math and physics. It’s amazing to see what people can do when they accept blessings in their lives rather than treat new life as a “punishment”. And if they’re reading this, I hope they know how proud both sets of parents are of them.

 Full post at Hot Air.

6 Responses

  1. you have a lot of good stuff here. and you can probably do a lot of good, too, if you’ll set your sights a little higher. i’m serious when i say this: start thinking about what can be done to make things better, not just to make sure a certain candidate doesn’t get elected. sadly, it does seem that the two are joined at the hip – woe is us. but if you’ve got a pulpit, preach to make a difference. give something of substance to the “hits” that keep on coming. i’m sure your heart is in the (sharp) right place; i’d encourage you to entertain the thought that others’ are, too.

    mike rucker
    fairburn, georgia, usa
    mikerucker.wrodpress.com

  2. one final thought, and i’ll shut up … maybe: take a look at your tag cloud.

    and draw your own conclusions.

    mike rucker
    fairburn, georgia, usa
    mikerucker.wordpress.com

  3. mikerucker,
    Thanks for your comments.

    I didn’t start this blog for a “pulpit” really….I started it to vent the frustration I have with our terrible leaders, one-sided news sources, lack of respect for our constitution and founding, over-the-top political correctness, liberal intolerance in the name of tolerance, etc.

    The fact that I may have tangentially generated a pulpit is an interesting prospect.
    I’ll consider your comments constructively as I move forward. Thanks.

    What I won’t do is minimize what I believe nor take the politically correct approach to the matters and people I see as detrimental to the country, my family and my God..

  4. you have a lot of good stuff here. and you can probably do a lot of good, too, if you’ll set your sights a little higher.

    SRT, Don’t you love it when folks come into your house and start telling you what kind of laudry detergent you should be using?

    geesh!

  5. Mark
    Good point….I do sort of feel like if you don’t like it, don’t read it…..

  6. mark?!?!?!?! again?!?!?!?!?!

    i really ought to look into getting that restraining order i was thinking about…

    oops… nearly six pm. time for my meds…

    mike rucker
    fairburn, georgia, usa
    mikerucker.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

